Sports Program

School Sport

The school hosts three (3) major whole-school sporting events. In Term 1, the Interhouse Swimming Carnival is held at the Warracknabeal Memorial Swimming Pool. In Term 1 or two, the Interhouse Athletics and Interhouse Cross Country events are conducted at Anzac Park and around the school grounds respectively.

There are three houses that students compete in; and each house is led by one with a male and female captain and vice captain. Year 10 and 11 students are encouraged to nominate for these positions when elections are held in Term Three.

The three sports houses are: Wimmera (maroon), Henty (gold), and Borung (blue).

Parents, friends and family are welcome to attend and/or help out on these days. Please refer to newsletter at the time for dates and further information.

Sports Awards - at Presentation Night, students who participate at inter-school level in each of the three main sporting events receive a certificate to acknowledge their achievement. Also, the Sportsperson of Year is announced and presented with a certificate and medallion. 

Borung House

Henty House

Wimmera House

Interschool Sport

From the school sport carnivals, winning students get the opportunity to compete at division (Black Ranges), region (Greater Western) and state level.  Information regarding region level sport can be found at

There are a variety of interschool sports offered for students to participate in throughout the year. These are part of the Black Ranges Sports Division, which include the following schools: Murtoa College, Marian College, Ararat Community College, Stawell Secondary College, St Brigid's College, and Horsham College.

All students are welcome to nominate themselves at the end of the preceding term of which they are held. The sports offered are;

Term One

Tennis - Year 9 to 12

Golf – Year 7 to 12

Basketball – Year 9 to 12

Term Two

Girls Football – Year 7 to 12

Boys Football – Year 7 to 12

Netball – Year 7 to 12

​Term Three

Hockey – Year 7 to 12

Shooting – Year 7 to 12

Basketball – Year 7 and 8

Term Four

Tennis – Year 7 and 8

Super 8’s Cricket – Year 7 to 10


Warracknabeal Secondary College also has a student sport committee called D.I.S.S.C. (Develop and Improvement of School Sport Committee). It is open to Year 9, 10 and 11 students through an application process. These students perform a range of roles within school sport. These include: